The Badminton World Federation announced that on June 15th 2021 the qualification period will officially close and there are to be no more qualifying events before the deadline. “As such, while the qualification period officially closes 15 June 2021 as per the Revised Tokyo 2020 Qualification System, the current Race To Tokyo rankings list will not change. Invitations will be sent shortly with final participation lists and seedings to be published at the conclusion of this process,” quoted by the BWF press release..

Bronze medalist in the London Olympics, Saina Nehwal is currently ranked 22, in order to qualify a player has to be in the top-16 in the rankings before June 15, 2021. As per the rankings, only PV Sindhu has qualified in the women’s singles division and Sai Praneeth will be the only Indian to feature in men’s singles.

While it is going to be the first Olympics appearance for Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty in the Men’s doubles category, so a total of 4 shuttlers from India have managed to qualify for the much anticipated Tokyo Olympics.

Along with Saina, Kidambi Srikanth also couldn’t make it to the qualifying list. The star shuttler is currently ranked at 20 which has led to disappointment among the Indian fans.

“The Olympic qualification process is in effect closed as there are no additional opportunities for players to earn points. However, we still need to receive confirmations from National Olympic Committees and Member Associations, followed by any possible reallocations, and this will take a number of weeks to complete.” said by BWF Secretary General Thomas Lund.


Leave a Reply