This Friday the 20-man squad for the final match of ICC World Test Championship (WTC) was announced by the All-India Senior Selection Committee, Indian team will play against New Zealand in order to decide the first winner of the World Test Championship and then will go head-to-head with English team for a 5 Test Match series.

Here’s the announced India’s squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).
The list of Standby players: Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna

Explosive opening batsman KL Rahul underwent an appendicitis surgery recently during the IPL tournament but has been named in the squad depending on his fitness tests and wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha whose covid tests were positive has also been named, again subject to fitness tests.

Returning to the Indian team are three players: Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami and Hanuma Vihari, while players like Prithvi Shaw, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hardik Pandya are set to miss out on the test squad. Among other absentees are Navdeep Saini and Kuldeep Yadav and Arzan Nagwaswalla is one name among the standby players who has managed to break into the Indian team for the first time.

Indian team managed a 3-1 win against England team in home conditions and got the top spot with 72.2% points and hence booked the place in the final. Needless to say, the fans along with the experts are excited to watch the best two teams clash and give the fans their first Test Champion.

Leave a Reply